Character Focus: Selis

(an oral account from a young man, country unknown)

I was sent to town for supplies last week. I’m passing, so it often falls on me. I don’t mind going, I just wish I didn’t have to go so often. At least they sent me with Kally. She can handle herself.

Anyway, last week was different. Trading for what we needed went smoothly, and we were outside the town when three men approached us on horseback. They looked dangerous. I don’t like dangerous.

“Good day to you both,” the lead man spoke, his stubbled head dripping slightly in the summer heat. “Productive day?”

I stiffened. Nobody in this region was that cordial nor interested in strangers. Kally subtly removed her feet from the stirrups. “Better than expected but not as well as hoped,” I replied evenly, my right hand casually brushing the short blade at my hip.

“Isn’t that always the way,” he replied, his black leather dully reflecting the late-afternoon sun. “Could we see your goods?”

I half-respected the man for his attempt at pretense. Most bandits were far less polite. Still. “We’ve a ways to go, friend. I’m afraid I’ll have to decline.” No sense not to play along.

“A shame,” he said, gently tugging at his broadsword. “I was hoping to make a deal.”

I stole a glance at Kally. Her face was a hard mask, hiding her feelings from anyone who didn’t know her. I knew her. She was ready to strike.

“Can we just agree to part ways?” I asked, knowing my attempt to bypass the impending hostility was absolutely futile. “We’re weary and wish to press on.”

“Oh, but we’ve only just begun,” said their leader. Each man had their blades drawn and ready now, point down for the moment. “Your cooperation is appreciated.”

“Kally,” I said, my attention shifted out of necessity. “What do you think.”

Her response was flat. “Quick and unforgiving.” If I had to describe her in two words…

The bandit leader smirked. “Seems as though you’ve forced — ”

Those words were his last. Kally had crossed the space between them — no longer in her saddle but on his, cruelly sharp talons having silently sprouted from each hand, most of which were buried in his chest. His heartsblood had just began to spill when I followed suit with a yell, the point of my short blade jabbing repeatedly at the next-nearest man. He blocked the third, fourth, and fifth thrusts, but his surprise at the pre-emptive attack had cost him. With two fresh wounds, he began listing to one side as his horse started to back off.

The third bandit, having seen his leader’s chest pierced through and his other companion wounded, decided this was his best chance to flee. Kally was having none of it, and the bones in her arms cracked as she flung them out to catch the fleeing miscreant — I don’t think I’ll ever get used to just how far she can reach. She plucked the screaming man from his saddle and yanked him back, still seated wrong-way astride the leader’s horse, and dashed the man to the ground headfirst. The screams stopped abruptly.

That left the man I’d wounded, whose horse had taken control. I quickly snatched the throwing axe from my side and hurled it at the fleeing man’s back; it struck him high in the shoulder, knocking him from the horse, which took the opportunity to escape. Kally was already in motion, swiftly reaching the fallen man. I turned away before she took his throat out.

The whole thing had taken mere seconds, but before me were three corpses and a blood-soaked horse. I took a deep breath and dismounted. Perhaps we could salvage something from this situation. Kally, her talons once again hidden, was idly wiping the blood from her arms on the least-bloody dead man’s clothing. I approached the leader’s red-spattered horse, which eyed me fearfully, unsure of what to do. It took me more than a few minutes to calm it enough to take hold of its reins.

In the meantime, Kally had been busy taking inventory. “A handful of silver, some basic supplies, one extra horse. Ample compensation.” She was pragmatic to a fault.

“We need to move these bodies off the road,” I said, making sure our new horse was secure. “Three dead men will attract attention, brigands or not.”

“Then let’s,” came her reply. “I want to get back and clean up.”

As we rode toward the setting sun, I closed my eyes and sighed, The Elders would want to hear our account of what happened more than once. We had a long night ahead of us.

Leave a comment